Nebraska Section American Water Works Association

website: www.awwaneb.org

Officers and Trustees Mike Wentink, 308.535.8135 e-mail: mike.wentink@hhss.ne.gov Chairperson Kevin Tobin, 402.504.7560 Chairperson-Elect Dr. Bruce Dvorak, 402.472.3431 Vice-Chair Chuck Thomerson, 402.562.4234 Secretary John S. Olsson, 402.458.5661 Treasurer Chris Koenig, 402.548.5112 Director Trustees Teresa Konda, 402.926.7063 Rob Pierce, 402.476.2829 Tony Bilek, 402.333.9660 **2007 Committee Chairs** Mike Wentink, Audit 308.535.8134 Steve Kelley, Awards 402.228.5217 John S. Olsson, Budget 402.458.5661 Rich Koenig, Cross Connections 402.370.3114 Mike Wentink, Education 308.535.8134 or 402.471.1005 Kevin Tobin, Fall Conference 402.504.7560 Jack Daniel, Fuller Award 402.471.0510 Tony Bilek Manufacturers/Associates Council 402.333.9660 Rich Robinson, Membership 402.255.3840 Tony Bilek, Nominations 402.333.9660 Mari Matulka, Publications 402.504.7150 Kathleen Alexander **Public Information** 402.399.1357 Dr. Bruce Dvorak, Research 402.472.3431 Rob Pierce, Safety 402.476.2829 Lynn Wegehaupt, Scholarship 402.504.7855 Rick Melcher, Small Systems 402.694.6992 Rich Koenig, SRF 402.370.3114 Dr. Bruce Dvorak, Student Activities 402.472.2057 Craig Reinsch, Water for People 402.458.5671 Jerry Obrist, Water Utility Council 402.441.5930 Ben Day, Young Professionals 402.458.5693

April 16, 2007

From: Mari Matulka, chair, Publications Committee

Seventeen people attended the AWWA Region IV Officers meeting, April 13-14 in Omaha, NE. Agenda items included: Changing Nature of Leadership; Fundraising and IRS Rules; Utility Management Standards; Section updates including the April Fly-In, Summer Workshop and ACE.

There currently are seven AWWA regions and Nebraska is in Region IV. The seven regions will be consolidated to five regions in 2008. Nebraska will continue to be in Region IV, however we will be joining Wyoming, part of Idaho, Utah, Colorado, Kansas, Missouri, Arizona, New Mexico, Texas, Oklahoma, Arkansas, Louisiana and Mexico. Officers may attend whichever region meeting is most convenient.

Susan Franceschi will continue to serve as Nebraska's section services representative.

See attached photos.



Front from left: Kevin Tobin, Metropolitan Utilities District; Mike Wentink, Nebraska Health & Human Services; Chris Koenig, HDR Engineering Inc.; Dean Sletten, Aqualogix, Moorhead, MN.

Back: Janice Skadsen, Camp Dresser & McKee, Ann Arbor, MI and National AWWA Vice-President; Dr. Bruce Dvorak, UNL Engineering, Lincoln; Tim Wilson, Marshalltown Water Works, Marshalltown, IA; Teresa Konda, HDR Engineering Inc. Joel Christensen, Metropolitan Utilities District, was unavailable for photo.



Front from left: Jim Ginley, Utility Quality Program manager, National AWWA; Allan Erickson, HDR Engineering, Sioux Falls, SD; Jerry Stevens, West Des Moines Water Works and In-Coming National AWWA Vice-President; Cavin Nodding, Engineering Inc., Billings, MT.

Back: Mari Matulka, Metopolitan Utilities District; Susan Franceschi, senior section services representative, National AWWA; Tony Bilek, Mc2 Inc., Omaha; Paula Macllwaine, deputy executive director, National AWWA.